6 thoughts i had during my first chinese lesson

our school provides free chinese lessons and i had my first one last friday.  considering both my french teachers hated me (my mom can attest), i feel a need to pronounce every letter in a word, and i generally suck at languages, i had a feeling this wasn’t going to go well.  here are the 6 thoughts that smogged up my brain during the lesson.

 

1. Teacher: What things do you already know?

Melissa: Uhhh.  Hello, thank you, cheers, and beer.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-21736-1367936524-16

I have managed for nearly two months with those words and pointing.  I want that, point.  What is this, point.  How much is this, point.

 

2. Teacher: You probably know what this word means.

You are vastly overestimating my abilities.

tumblr_m3bwf2mdqJ1qe9eo3

Laughable.

 

3. What do you mean Q doesn’t make the same sound as it does in english?!

tumblr_inline_mrgjj30nPK1qz4rgp

Oh god, and there are MORE letters like that?!

 

4. I really need to learn my numbers.

tumblr_inline_msvv2j4u4n1rnvwt1

Currently all I know is 1 and 3.  Mostly because I ordered three beers once.  Thankfully, china has hand signals for numbers so I use that.

 

5. Teacher: You guys are picking this up so much faster than my other students.

tumblr_inline_mobcfa810H1rnvwt1

Yay! Oh wait, you weren’t looking at me when you said that.

 

6. (end of two hour session) Why am I not fluent yet?!

anigif_enhanced-buzz-5928-1372863158-6

Ugh god, I might stick with pointing.

 

Oh, I went to a drag show last night and will be flying to Oktoberfest and Istanbul on Monday.

Leave a Reply

