10 Things I Have Learned 6 Months Into Beijing

January 30th marked my 6 month Chinaversary (see what I did there?).  I have to say most of the time has flown by, sometimes blurred by.  It has been a great experience and I’m excited for what the next 6 months bring.  Hopefully warmth and more margaritas. Here are the 10 things I have learned in Beijing so far.

1.  Chinese people think it is okay to stop walking in the middle of a crowded walkway

clothesline

The number of times I have run into people because they decide it’s a good idea to stop walking on a staircase is ridiculous.

2.  Kids are gross

kid boogers drill

Sometimes I mentally weep over the number of fingers I have pulled out of kids’ noses to hear them say something in English.

3.  The expat community is wonderful

golden girl gossip

Things that happen in the expat group don’t leave the expat group.  Unless it’s too embarrassing/funny not to share and then everyone knows.

4. It’s okay to spit out food

spit food out

I’m not ashamed to admit that I have spit out food the moment it hit my tongue because it was gross.  And in public.

5.  You learn to zone out how gross a bathroom is

jurassic park toilet

Squat toilets rarely get to me anymore.  I have a “Don’t look, don’t think, don’t breathe” mantra that kicks in as soon as I have to go into a public toilet.

6.  My ayi (cleaning lady) doesn’t mind cleaning my room with me still hung over in bed.

cleaning vaccuum sleep

I have slept through her cleaning my room a couple (most) times.  I like to think she finds me amusing.

7.  Fake alcohol gives the worst hangovers

hungover dead

Will I never learn?

8. Hot water cures everything

drink hot water

“Feeling sick?  Drink hot water.” – Said every Chinese person ever.

9.  WeChat is life

wechat

Everyone here uses the WeChat app to text.  No one uses regular texts or call each other. The best part of the app?  Stickers.  Which are basically GIFs.  The majority are incredibly inappropriate.  Here are my Top 3 favorite WeChat stickers that won’t mortify my parents.

35_avatar_middle rabbit snuggle  confetti

10. I love KTV

karaeoke

I might be as tone deaf as a dying cat, but karaoke in China is magical.


And for a little bit of balance, here is the 1 thing I haven’t learned in Beijing.

1. Chinese

point this

My god, I can barely say three words in Chinese.  But I can point like a mofo.


Thanks for all the support these past 6 months.  I wouldn’t have made it without the love from my friends.  Staying in touch with everyone at home keeps me going more than you can possibly imagine.  I miss my friends and family more than anything.  Including Chick Fil A.

Leave a Reply

